Hodgepodgereel

Quicksand-ing…Restaining an Old Chair.

leave a comment »


Once in a while I get itchy hands to create something. Other times I get the crafty fingers. And too few and far between, there are times when I just want to destroy stuff. AND…there are even less minutely formed moments where I feel like refurbishing something. However, I’ve been eyeing this project for a couple of years and finally decided to do something about it.

I found this chair years ago at the Alameda Antique Fair and it’s been a really good chair. It just needed to be sanded and restained to bring some life back to it.

Here a some before and after images of the chair.

Not as easy as I thought it was going to be. There were many round surfaces to contend with.

The “quick” sanding project extended to a 40 minute slow-sanding event. I needed to resand many spots because there was varnish on the wood. I used some different grit sandpapers for this (100, 120, 150, 180).

A red walnut stain gave it a good rejuvenation of color. Though getting those crevasses was extremely difficult. A bit of thinner can resolve this mistake since the cushion is a vinyl material…no harm to it, just my pride.

All in all, not a bad outing to complete a restaining project.

follow me.

Written by F&W

December 22, 2011 at 12:01 am

Leave a Reply

